Old advertising signs in the Touraine and an appeal for more!


One feature of life in the Touraine is the number of old advertising signage – metal, carved or painted on walls – seen in practically every village and certainly every town. They often refer to defunct products and companies. They are a valuable link to the past as they both refer to what were once every-day consumer items and have also become landmarks in their own right, though often never consciously recognised as such.

I know from my previous work as a local historian in Bristol UK how quickly such signs are lost – one day they are part of all our lives, the next painted over or  gone into a skip for land fill.

Over the past year or so I’ve been snapping old signs when I’ve been out and about – but quite often I don’t have my camera with me so I miss a lot. I was wondering if you, dear readers, fancy photographing such signs where you live and send them to me so I can put a ‘grande collection’ on this site (with acknowledgments, of course). Anyway, here are a few I’ve collected so far just to set you going!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Jim McNeill

I am a blogger on 'The Social History of the Touraine region of France (37)' and also 'The Colonial History of Pennsylvania and the life & Family of William Penn'. I am a Director of Fresh Ground Group Ltd.
This entry was posted in architecture, Ferrière Larçon, Grand Pressigny, Loches and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Old advertising signs in the Touraine and an appeal for more!

  1. Pingback: Social history in the Touraine ~ Central France

  2. drofmit4108 says:

    Take a look at latest [09-11-11] entry on Simon and Susan’s “Days on the Claise” blog!
    http://daysontheclaise.blogspot.com/

  3. Pingback: Old advertising signs in the Touraine … – Social history in the Touraine - - worldhistory.vno.bz

Leave a comment