Young women of Vouvray in traditional Touraine costume ~ 1906


Here is the second of the two postcards of the Touraine that I recently purchased. This is of four “Pretty Young Girls of Vouvray”. The message on the reverse, from a father on a summer holiday to his daughter who lives in Derby, is really sweet….or am I just getting sentimental in my old(er) age.

It is postmarked 1908 but, if you look closely you will see a sign for 1906 just above their heads. I wonder what the rural occasion was? For a previous blog of women’s costume in the Touraine click here.

About Jim McNeill

I am a blogger on 'The Social History of the Touraine region of France (37)' and also 'The Colonial History of Pennsylvania and the life & Family of William Penn'. I am a Director of Fresh Ground Group Ltd.
This entry was posted in 20th Century, Vouvray, Women's History and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Young women of Vouvray in traditional Touraine costume ~ 1906

  1. Hello, an interesting blog, I am doing something similar for the region just south of you, Poitou Charentes and will shortly be posting a blog on old postcards. I have copied a few (4) from a site which sells them and have contacted the site to get permission. No reply yet, I do not think they will care too much. I have linked my blog to them so it is publicity for them.

    Anyway I shall keep my eye on your blog, very interesting.

    • Jim McNeill says:

      Hi
      I’ve just visited your blob by return – lovely images.
      Re postcards of Poitou Charentes ~ have you tried purchasing them via ebay? I’ve found this a useful, and inexpensive, way of building up a collection of old images of the Touraine and sharing them via my blog. I look forward to your future posts.
      Kind regards,
      Jim

      • Hello,
        I have bought a few postcards from ebay but I am not a collector, it is only if the postcard is of a place I have connections with.
        The company which I coppied some cards fom is called Bidstart you may know of them but if not have a look as they have a very large selection.

        I will wait a few more days to see if they get back to me and then i will post my blog.
        I have put bidstart on my blogroll so if you have problems finding them you can get to them using that approach.

        All the best
        Alan

  2. Pingback: Further images of Edwardian women in the Touraine ~ 1908 | Social history in the Touraine ~ Central France

Leave a Reply

