Touraine country libraries ~ Ligueil a case in point


Last week, at a cost of just 5€, I joined my local library at Ligueil in the South Touraine. I did this ‘cos I love books, love libraries, love second-hand bookshops and because you never know what or who you’ll discover in a library. On this occasion I had the pleasure of meet Ailette Cannneton who volunteers (I think) at the library in Ligueil and speaks far better English than I do French.

The library is on the main road through the town and is run by “Les Amis de la Lecture” (Ailette is its Présidente) and the welcome I got was extremely warm , helpful and most friendly. If you’ve not done so already then join your local library – it’s a great way to meet local French people. The Ligueil Library is open Monday Mornings (Market Day) and Wednesdays (2.30-4.30pm). It holds certain books that are permanent but a great many are changed every 3 weeks or so and there is a good selection of English Novels …. and they would welcome donations of used English books ~ what a great way to recycle!

The library is based in the old C19th school building which appears to adjoin an earlier building which used to house the Chancellerie. I have an idea about, maybe, doing a small display/slideshow on some aspect of local history in the library at some point in the future. It could be fun.

Ailette also gave me information on the forthcoming General Assembly of Les Amis de la Lecture it will be held on Wednesday,  29 June, 2011 at Centre Social de Ligueil, Salle polyvalente, Ligueil ~ starts at 6pm.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Jim McNeill

I am a blogger on 'The Social History of the Touraine region of France (37)' and also 'The Colonial History of Pennsylvania and the life & Family of William Penn'. I am a Director of Fresh Ground Group Ltd.
This entry was posted in 21st Century, Libraries, Ligueil and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

